Saturday, January 10, 2015

Confessions of a Ninja

I was sitting on the couch while the boys had their nap today.  Quietly eating half a muesli bar I found discarded under the beanbag. 


This wouldn't be a confession if I didn't do embarrassing things, people.  I don't give a fuck.


So, as I chewed my salvaged treat, I got to thinking about an article I read yesterday.  It was shared by one of the elite ninjas I happen to know.  I'm pretty sure it's my absolute favourite article ever.  Here's a link if you haven't already read it.
The subtle art of not giving a fuck


There it was.  All of life's great mysteries summed up succinctly using the F bomb something like 127 times.  Hey, if it works, who am I to argue with it?


I try not to give a fuck about stupid things.  It's all part of the ninja code.  rule #7 - flip the bird.  Potatoes gonna potate.  And so on.  (Coming soon- The Ninja Code)


And so it dawned on me, that the code of the ninja is very much based on this random guy's beliefs- and more particularly, about not giving a fuck.  Perhaps it'd be clearer if I called it "Only give a fuck about important shit" but it doesn't quite have the same ring to it.  As ^^that guy, Mark Manson said- not giving a fuck doesn't mean you don't give a fuck.  (seriously just click the link.   I can't say it any better.)

He doesn't give a fuck most of the time.  He's really quite a revolutionary child if you look at it that way.


It takes a certain amount of wisdom for an adult ninja to keep their fucks in check though.  A....... ninja like restraint, perhaps? 


I seem to have started a bit of a list-writing tradition, so in light of this ground breaking new information, I have some confessions to make.  In list form!  These are some things I shouldn't give a fuck about..... but do.


1. I can't drink coffee without cream in it anymore.  I'm that spoiled.
2. I don't have the balls to leave the volume up on the car stereo at a red light.  Sha-aaame.
3. I don't reverse park because I look like a damn fool.
4. Bakery bread or no bread.  I may be a tightwad, but not with the bread.
5. I prefer to be alone with my junk food because I don't have to share it.

More confessions to come.  HurriKane has arisen.......

Next week we'll talk about the Ninja Code.  Until then!

1 comment:

  1. I can completely understand 1. 2. 3. & 5. ;) you're on your own with the bread though, i dont eat it at all!!

    ReplyDelete